600 Broadway, Suite 200 Kansas City, Missouri 64105-1659

816-474-4240 816-421-7758 FAX www.marc.org



May 6, 2020

Secretary Elaine L. Chao U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20590

RE: Letter of Support for "KC Streetcar- Riverfront Extension" BUILD Grant Application

Dear Secretary Chao:

As the U.S. Department of Transportation considers applications for BUILD Discretionary Grants, the Mid-America Regional Council wishes to convey support for application submitted by the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority in partnership with the City of Kansas City, Missouri, the Kansas City Streetcar Authority and the Port Authority of Kansas City, Missouri. MARC serves as the council of governments and metropolitan planning organization for Greater Kansas City.

This innovative multi-modal project will reconnect Kansas City's historic Berkley Riverfront to the heart of downtown Kansas City. The project includes a northern extension of the highly successful KC Streetcar system in addition to new pedestrian improvements. This three-quarter-mile project is a natural extension of the KC Streetcar starter line and will advance integrated commuter options – including recreation, bike, pedestrian, and parking for the RideKC regional system. Moreover, this project will bridge existing railroad barriers and connect over 50 acres of development-ready ground to downtown KC – further expediting the rate and value of economic development.

This project is fully consistent with *Transportation Outlook 2040*, the region's long-range transportation plan and, as such, demonstrates the support of the entire Kansas City region for this important investment.

The Mid-America Regional Council supports funding this BUILD application; and we look forward to working with you to make this important project a reality.

Sincerely,

mds

David A. Warm Executive Director

Chair Rob Roberts Commissioner Miami County, Kansas 1st Vice Chair Jimmy Odom Commissioner Cass County, Missouri 2nd Vice Chair Harold Johnson Jr. Commissioner Unified Government of Wyandotte County/ Kansas City, Kansas Treasurer Eileen Weir Mayor Independence, Missouri Secretary Carson Ross Mayor Blue Springs, Missouri Executive Director David A. Warm